PDA

View Full Version : Bad Streak, Bad Play or Both?

CMangano
05-12-2003, 06:27 PM
I am relatively new to Hold'em, but I think I play pretty well. I have read Lee Jones' book at least 5 or 6 times. I have also read HPFAP a couple times, and the loose section at least 4 or 5 times. I am almost finished reading Theory of Poker, and read these boards daily. My first 2 months were very good to me. This month, however, has been a nightmare. So, I need to figure out if I am losing more than I should, or if I am just on a bad run right now. I am sure the knowledgable people here can help me determine that.

----------------------------

Hand 1 (3/6 online)

I am dealt QQ in the SB. This is the first hand I have played since joining the table (1 orbit). 1 LP calls (calls with anything decent, but will throw away absolute rags), 1 MP calls (average player), CO calls (average player) and I raise. BB and MP fold, rest call, 3 to the flop.

Flop comes 7h Kd 8h. The King scares me, but I bet out. LP calls (big surprise) and CO folds. 2 to the turn.

Turn comes KC [7h Kd 8h]. I bet out again, LP calls.

River comes the Jd [7h Kd 8h Kd]. I bet out, thinking the only way I am losing is if he turns over a K. LP calls. Thoughts?

-----------------------------

Hand 2 Same Table

2 orbits later I play my second hand of the day, QQ in the SB again! It's folded to the button who raises (he is a decent player, and my guess he is trying to steal the blinds with an average holding). I raise, SB and BB fold, Button calls. Heads up on the flop.

Flop comes Jh 9c 6s. I bet expecting the button to fold, and he calls.

Turn comes 4d [Jh 9c 6s]. I bet with no doubt that I am in the lead, and he calls.

River comes 10c [Jh 9c 6s 4d]. I again bet, but this time he raises. I call. Thoughts?

-------------------------------

Hand 3 Same Table