PDA

View Full Version : Is it ever worth going for a flush draw?

09-23-2005, 08:33 AM
Newbie here. OK a bare nut flush draw after the flop (with 2 card suited in the flop and say your only out is the flush) is about 0.36 probability. Assuming the other players are going to drop as soon as they see 3 of a suit, I cannot see it ever paying to stay in. Only with 4 players staying through to the river (all with say straight draws)are you ever going to collect enough money with your wins (I will do a quick analysis later if anyone is interested) to make up for your losses. And one on one you are going to lose 2:1 all the time (the starting pot is going to be irrelevantly small in PL or NL).
Do you guys go for the flush draws or should I be tossing my AH 2H xx away? It would be rather boring if one never went for a flush draw.

mshalen
09-23-2005, 09:14 AM
What levels are you playing at? If you are on the lower levels then don't believe for a second that people freeze when the board 3 suits. Most players at the lower levels are playing their cards without a thought given to what you may have. These guys can't fold a staight draw, a straight or a set, only tight thinking players will fold.

I originally thought this way too, but then I saw so many people drawing to full houses or straights on a flush board that it doesn't slow me down anymore.

09-23-2005, 09:23 AM
I think you are probably right at the lower levels though I will look hard at my stats to see if I broke even on it. Does that mean none of the good players do it at the higher levels?

09-23-2005, 09:29 AM
If you are heads up on the turn, you need 13 outs to get pot odds to call a full pot bet with a draw that will not be paid off should you hit the draw. So, calling a pot sized bet here with the naked nut flush draw is -EV if you can't make any more on the river.