PDA

View Full Version : Basic Omaha Strategy

09-22-2005, 03:52 PM
I am new to Omaha, but I enjoy the game. Could someone please school me on the basic strategy of Omaha? What starting hands are considered raising hands? What are some basic concepts for flop play?

I am fairly experience in hold em but I have come to realize Omaha is a totally different game.

joewatch
09-22-2005, 04:08 PM
Just buy Ciaffone's Omaha book. Nobody is going to write that much in a single post!

09-22-2005, 04:52 PM
Eventhough you only play 2 of your 4 cards, don't think of your starting hand as 6 independant HE hands.

AhKd is a great HE hand. 6c7c is a decent HE hand. AhKd6c7c is a garbage Omaha hand.

PLOlover
09-22-2005, 07:50 PM
a) play starters that are coordinated
b) flop really well
c) improve your hand after the flop

09-22-2005, 09:29 PM
You really think AhKd6c7c is garbage? I would call with this, so you can see where I am at with my omaha play.

What kind of hands should I be raising with? It seems to me like pocket pairs and suited cards make good hands.

greatwhite
09-22-2005, 10:24 PM
Omaha strategy is definately more basic than hold'em. Play 4 cards that work well together or aces, only draw to the nuts, and make people pay when you are clearly ahead.

henrikrh
09-23-2005, 09:50 AM
[ QUOTE ]
Omaha strategy is definately more basic than hold'em. Play 4 cards that work well together or aces, only draw to the nuts, and make people pay when you are clearly ahead.

[/ QUOTE ]

I draw to the second nuts quite a bit, if the four flush has only come on the turn and many players folded on the flop the chance that you are up against the nut flush draw as well as a hand that already has you beat isn't that high. Besides the use of words such as 'only' 'always' and 'never' don't make for good strategy in most poker games imo.