PDA

View Full Version : Reducing variance in STTs

09-21-2005, 06:35 PM
In an effort to reduce my bankroll variance, I have recently been playing 6-handed STTs. I find that I get into the money fairly easily. The payouts are lower, but so far finishing ITM is going well.
Since I am just getting started in this I haven't tried many sites. I looked at Emipre (party skin where most people here seem to play) and noticed they don't have any 6 handed STTs.
Questions:
1. Has anyone else tried 6 handed STTs? If you are profitable with it, what is your long term ITM %?

2. What sites do you know of that offer 6 handed STTs? What stakes? buyin + rake?

Max

09-21-2005, 06:49 PM
Sorry I can't offer my own experiencs here, but I think logic would dictate that there would be more variance in smaller SNGs, because the particular cards that you and your opponent get in each hand become more important, and therefore your skill at strategic maneuvering becomes less important and the fight turns into short-term nuclear warfare.

Maybe you are doing better in them because you have abilities that help u to excel short-handed, or perhaps you have just been playing a looser game (as you should) and have gone on a hot streak.. which again is more likely when you are 6-handed.

I hope some ppl with major SNG records post more information for you, for I would like to know more about this my self.

Good luck!

bawcerelli
09-21-2005, 06:57 PM
my gut says variance will be the same whether starting 10 handed or 6 handed.

09-21-2005, 07:12 PM