PDA

View Full Version : Question

09-21-2005, 02:03 AM
I'm fairly new to poker, so please excuse the noobish question.

In theory, would a player beating the 1-2 or 2-4 for a decent earn be able to successfully do the same at the higher limits given an adaquate BR, provided he excersised maticulous table selection?

I mean, is it that the winning players at those levels are ALOT better, and negate any advantage that the 2-4 player would have over the bad players, or is it simply that there aren't that many bad players at those levels, effectively making the 2-4 players the fish?

It just seems odd to me to see so many obviously intellegent and studious players in the micros (and SS) that have unbelivable knowledge of the game, that aren't playing the higher limits. Is poker alot tougher and more complicated than I imagine? Or is it simply just BR related?

benkath1
09-21-2005, 02:12 AM
I would say both. For most (especially at this level) poker is still just a hobby. Fun, challenging, pays for cool stuff. Some guys like to see how far they can go on a small investment. After losing a couple of hundred, I started over with $10 and am shocked at my success. If I had the bankroll would I play higher? I don't think my game is developed enough to do that yet. But when I think it is, you betcha I'll give it a try, BR permitting.

Hobbies are fun, especially the ones that pay you. (or pay for your other ones /images/graemlins/wink.gif )

09-21-2005, 02:14 AM
I think it's a combination of both. And it seems like a lot of the players move up to higher limits. At least a few of the guys that post in mid-high and play 30-60 online started out playing small stakes online.

jaxUp
09-21-2005, 02:18 AM