PDA

View Full Version : Some Concept Questions

CIncyHR
09-19-2005, 07:46 PM
Day one: open limping

Ok, so as some of you have seen me here the last couple of days posting hands. I am new to full table, formerly a winning low limit 6max player. In addition to posting specific hands Im gonig to post one general concept question thats bugging me every day until I get a grasp on this. Hopefully it will help me improve my full table game and be atleast a little stimulating for everyone else. So here is todays:

In 6max one of the three pillars of winning play is to NEVER open limp.. In full table, it seems qite common. Starting hand charts seem to reccomend open limpnig UTG with no less than 20 different hands in loose games. Is this really profitable? What is the justification for this play? Dont we want to raise to take control of the hand? It seems that open limping in early position anyway is almost alwyas bound to put in 2 bets preflop OOP. Please explain the open limping in this game becuase every time I do it it makes me want to cry.

Vote4Pedro
09-19-2005, 08:03 PM
dont do it

benkath1
09-19-2005, 08:07 PM
It's generally not a good idea. In the UTG positions at a weak table, I may open limp more if I've seen very little raising preflop. Or if I'm ahead of a bunch of 50+/0/0 guys. It's still not a good habit to get into.

Greg J
09-19-2005, 08:19 PM
I like the title of this post. I would suggest you post other concept questions you have into this same thread. That way others will have access to a lot of common (yet good) questions in one place.

As far as open limping goes, it depends on the circumstances (table). SSHE recomends open limping with KQo and AJo in ep -- then again most player here (myself included) like a raise UTG here. Other hands like A2s-A8s are fine to open limp at many loose tables with multiple callers. So are 22-88 (though 88 is getting more toward the raise end, table contigent), and hands like QTs and K9s.