PDA

View Full Version : Online Hostility

Roy Munson
09-18-2005, 12:29 PM
I have been playing poker online for 5 years and it seems to me that the current level of hostility in the chat boxes is at an all time high. Don't get me wrong, I greatly enjoy watching people steam and they must be steaming to take the extra effort to type their emotions for the table to see.

Has anyone else noticed a similar increase in player anger or am I just imagining this?

Mayhap
09-18-2005, 01:03 PM
I haven't noticed markedly more hostility as of late.
I've been playing about 1.5 years.
I do like to get away from those tables.
In the midst of water only a fool is thirsty.

DCWGaming
09-18-2005, 07:21 PM
I used to be one hostile bastard

12 tables of berating at a time.

Recently I stopped.

Berating is at an all time low.

chadplusplus
09-18-2005, 11:57 PM
I've noticed it too.

My true worry is about psychokinetic goo from all this hostility flowing over the internet. Who you gonna call?

chesspain
09-19-2005, 12:20 AM
[ QUOTE ]
Has anyone else noticed a similar increase in player anger or am I just imagining this?

[/ QUOTE ]

Lower average age of online players = higher levels of expressed aggression.

09-19-2005, 01:33 AM
Not that it's right, but you have to expect some hostility when you say something that is perceived as hostile. For example, who are you to decided how neccessary a poster is or isn't? Your life and standards are not the standards for all. What one man (and I use the term loosely) deems as obsolete, another decides that thing, thought, or experience is good or useful for his or her own personal growth. Don't like hostility?? Don't be hostile. Have a nice day. /images/graemlins/laugh.gif

09-19-2005, 06:08 AM