PDA

View Full Version : Margin Accounts

Degen
09-18-2005, 09:45 AM
Ok I'm really new to all of this, so feel free to flame me if this is a bonehead question/post.

I wanted the ability to sell short, so I called my online broker and asked why I wasn't able to do this. They told me that I had to have margins activated in order for this to work.

Ok, so I applied for margins and got approved.

I'm reading the margin materials and it says you can use this to deal with short-term financial problems for personal or business use. I call in to inquire about this and I am told that for every dollar in my account, they will allow me to borrow one dollar at 9% interest. So essentially I am getting back the money that I put into the account. I can then buy stocks with the balance, which is really their money.

Ok so say I have $10,000 in my account. I pull it out and have $10,000 in cash and $10,000 to buy stocks with. Then I use that to open a new account, do the same thing and now I have $20,000 to buy stocks with and $10,000 in cash. Repeat, repeat, repeat.

Not that I would want to do this with my knowledge, but if one could beat the juice with their stock picking prowess...isn't this a way to exponentially grow your purchasing power with basically no capital of your own at work?

Am I missing something here?

1C5
09-18-2005, 10:24 AM
I thought you get 4-1 margin on some online brokers.

Degen
09-18-2005, 10:50 AM
according to the margin disclosure i have there is a law that says that there is some kind of a 50% rule...i thought this meant that you could only get 50 cents margin per dollar in there, but apparently that is 1-1.

though i could be wrong...

edit: o and i remember being taught in high school that a big cause of the great depression was that people were buying a ton of stock on credit, so they put restrictions on this

09-18-2005, 12:47 PM
[ QUOTE ]