PDA

View Full Version : ITM% and ROI% - STT Novice trying to find a good correlation

DawnToDusk
09-16-2005, 02:18 PM
So I am new to NL STT and have been playing a good amount to get some practice and see where I need to improve in my game. After I read HOH I & II, I set out to play about 40 before I reread them. Hopefully these 40 STT that I will play will help me better understand some of the concepts that Harrington is discussing as well as help me pin point some of the concepts I need to improve upon.

Now at the moment I have a really really small sample size of 30. No need to flame. I understand its small. But my question is more of a theoretical one. Right now my ITM% is 38%. Lets say the sample size was increased to 1000 and my ITM was still 38%. Is this good? To me it doesn't seem good at all.

When I look at my ITM% and say "Oh. Im doing alright. I am in the money 38% of the time." Then I look at my ROI% and see its only 6.3%. Its discouraging to me, albeit I am still a novice. But for someone to be truely a GREAT STT player and reaping a good profit, what should their ITM% be? I would ask what the ROI% would be, but it seems to be really dependent on the ITM%. You can run bad and not get any first places for say like 20 STT, but still be in the money 15 times and your ROI% will increase.

Kind of get what all my jibber jabber means? Maybe a better thing to ask is for those of your who are showing a ROI% of 50%+ (is that unreasonable) what is your ITM%? And for those of your who are in the money 50%+ what is your ROI%?

durron597
09-16-2005, 02:23 PM
ITM is a pretty meaningless number. Don't worry about it. If you have more firsts than thirds you will have a much higher ROI than if you have a lot of thirds.

Nicholasp27
09-16-2005, 02:23 PM
roi and itm% are not gonna be 50% in the long run...

itm is generally around 38-43%

however, what separates the 5% roi players from the 25% roi players is the dist of 1/2/3