PDA

View Full Version : Newb Play, Advice Needed

Nightbrace
09-16-2005, 01:22 AM
Party Poker 0.50/1 Hold'em (8 handed) FTR converter on zerodivide.cx (http://www.zerodivide.cx/converter)

Preflop: Hero is BB with J/images/graemlins/spade.gif, K/images/graemlins/diamond.gif.
[color=#666666]2 folds</font>, MP1 calls, [color=#666666]4 folds</font>, Hero checks.

Flop: (2.50 SB) K/images/graemlins/spade.gif, J/images/graemlins/heart.gif, T/images/graemlins/club.gif [color=#0000FF](2 players)</font>
[color=#CC3333]Hero bets</font>, MP1 calls.

Turn: (2.25 BB) J/images/graemlins/club.gif [color=#0000FF](2 players)</font>
Hero checks, [color=#CC3333]MP1 bets</font>, [color=#CC3333]Hero raises</font>, MP1 calls.

River: (6.25 BB) 8/images/graemlins/club.gif [color=#0000FF](2 players)</font>
[color=#CC3333]Hero bets</font>, MP1 calls.

Final Pot: 8.25 BB

Is it okay to check-raise in this situation? I have check-raised maybe only 10 times since I started playing, but it may be something that I am not utilizing as much as I should...

Comments on all streets appreciated!

Nightbrace
09-16-2005, 01:24 AM
Not sure why the colors didn't show up, I'll figure it out eventually.

MrWookie47
09-16-2005, 01:25 AM
A check/raise here is a great play against a great player. A player who'll value bet relentlessly and call down, too. It's decent against a bluffer, because you'll get one bet you might not otherwise get. Against typical players at party 0.50/1, it's terrible. They might check behind, and then you cry. In general, you don't need to make fancy plays to beat this game for an impressive win rate.

chiachu
09-16-2005, 01:27 AM
[ QUOTE ]
Not sure why the colors didn't show up, I'll figure it out eventually.

[/ QUOTE ]

atleasts the suits came out /images/graemlins/laugh.gif

i think its best if you bet out on the turn, and hope to get raised.

edit: MrWookie's post is much better then mine... make sure it makes sense to you

Nightbrace
09-16-2005, 01:39 AM