PDA

View Full Version : $100k in '05 (brag and commentary)

09-14-2005, 11:14 AM
Let me preface the post by saying I'm not sure it's a good idea. And I hope it doesn't clog the boards with other "I won a lot" posts. And I recognize that there are other posters who are considerably better than I am and who win considerably more.

That said, last week I hit my 2005 goal of $100k (in about 125,000 hands). Yay me.

My story's not much different from many others' around here. I started playing 2 1/2 years ago with $500 at $2/$4. This year, I've played 30/60, 15/30, and 10/20 6-max; all 4-tabling. I also played in the $2000 limit HE event at the WSOP -- I've posted about getting schooled by David Pham earlier, but school is for learning and those 4+ hours of play have really helped my game in a bunch of ways. I would play more but I have a job that can be very demanding and a 13 month old son, and I have a rule that I never play when I'm at home and he's awake. So I figure I've logged about 450-500 hours, which translates to $200+/hr.

Here are a few of the key stats, although some may be a little off since I only started using PT in February and I have played some 15/30 and 10/20 6max on my work computer, which doesn't have PT (I've tracked # of hands and winrate reasonably well, but not the other stats, obviously):

30/60: 1.7BB/100; 21/12/1.9 (30,000 hands)
15/30: 2.9BB/100; 23/12/2.1 (55,000 hands)
10/20 (6 max): 3.3BB/100; 30/20/2.2 (40,000 hands)

I also wanted to say a few things that I think may actually contribute substantively to the boards -- rather than me just patting myself on the back. I'm cross-posting this in mid-, high-stakes and heads-up & short-handed, so some of the comments might not be as relevant to one as the other, but here goes: