PDA

View Full Version : Ways of getting around an Office internet Proxy *DELETED*

CollinEstes
09-13-2005, 02:12 PM
Post deleted by Mat Sklansky

ChipWrecked
09-13-2005, 02:20 PM
Before this gets moved, I will do you a favor.

I work in a corporate NOC (Network Operating Center). If you value your job, forget it.

We see all. /images/graemlins/blush.gif

jaydub
09-13-2005, 02:46 PM
[ QUOTE ]
Before this gets moved, I will do you a favor.

I work in a corporate NOC (Network Operating Center). If you value your job, forget it.

We see all. /images/graemlins/blush.gif

[/ QUOTE ]

I run one and concur. We're like the eye in the sky....

Better to go with a cell modem on a personal laptop.

IHateKeithSmart
09-13-2005, 02:52 PM
I am a computer security researcher/consultant. There are some fairly simple ways to get out of most office proxies/firewalls, but I'd listen to these fine NOC guys and not attempt it.

Sites like anonymizer tend to not work through most corporate proxies, but often ssh can find it's way out (you can easily proxy ssh through an http/https proxy).

CollinEstes
09-13-2005, 02:55 PM
I guess if you guys don't know of way then it really isn't that possible. Thanks.

ChipWrecked
09-13-2005, 03:54 PM
Just because the proxy doesn't recognize the packets going through it, doesn't mean nobody knows your workstation is sending and receiving weird traffic.

And if anybody gets curious enough to sniff your traffic, and sees that it's anonymous proxy stuff, you're going to get some unwelcome attention.

It's not that there's no way around the proxy server. It's just that there's no way you can run traffic that can't be looked at.

09-13-2005, 03:59 PM
Internet monitoring of employee surfing/e-mail is illegal except in certain circumstances. There are a few cases out there where employees have sued and won. The legal test for what is considered consent by an employee to monitoring is not clear cut.

FYI

ChipWrecked
09-13-2005, 04:04 PM