PDA

View Full Version : playing online

09-13-2005, 11:53 AM
Only recently I started playing online, only about 2 weeks or so now. Last few times I've played I've done well for a while, but then just sorta became distracted/disinterested. I know that environment is very important, but seeing as my computer is in my room, there's not really much I can do to change that...I'm guessing this is a fairly common occurrence, so I'm wondering if anyone has any suggestions?

jkkkk
09-13-2005, 12:04 PM
Listen to music and post on 2+2.

BarronVangorToth
09-13-2005, 12:08 PM
I'm never on my computer without a DVD playing...

Barron Vangor Toth
BarronVangorToth.com
Watching "Six Feet Under" season 4 right now...

DCWGaming
09-13-2005, 12:54 PM
Doesnt it chop up when you've got a dvd playing and pokertracker/partypoker running simultaneously?

One idea that I might start doing... Getting "learning to speak [whatever language]" tapes and listening to them while playing. Speaking multiple languages is classy.

Neil Stevens
09-13-2005, 03:34 PM
I find that having things to keep my mind occupied between hands I'm in is necessary if I'm going to play decent numbers of hours.

2+2 forums, music, and the television all can serve that role.

09-13-2005, 04:39 PM
I disagree with all of the above suggestions.

I think anything that you do that pulls you away from the game will reduce the quality of your play. Instead of adding distractions, remove them all from sight. Clear off your desk, close your door, eat/drink before you start, turn off music. It's you and the game and that's it. Concentrate on what players are doing, how many hands they play, how aggressive are they, are they on tilt, etc. The big problem in online play is that there are more distractions available at your fingertips than in live play. You need to avoid the temptation to do anything other than concentrate on the game.