PDA

View Full Version : playing weak tight vs. running bad

PYITE
04-28-2003, 11:17 AM
I cannot figure out which one is happening, but I'm really frustrated!

I'm still a newbie, but going bust playing 3-6 @ Taj my last 3 trips down there has me scratching my head. I'm not looking for a pat on the back, or a "hang in there", just a little feedback.

Here is what I've concluded....

(1) I believe I've fallen into a weak tight mode, and don't know how to change that. I am relying on fit or fold EVERY time I see a flop. I routinely lay down middle pair with overcard kickers if someone bets.

(2) I believe I am just running bad as well. My 4 flush never gets there, my top pair gets outkicked, ect. My starting standards are very tight (only play 15% as per THFAP), so I've become a rock that bleeds slowly.

So my question is this, am I playing weak tight because I believe I'm running bad, or do I just think I'm running bad because I'm playing weak tight?

Sorry, that was really confusing!

Post it anyway....

Allan
04-28-2003, 11:35 AM
Regarding #1, you may be giving up on profitable opportunities by laying down EVERYTIME. You have to take into account how the value of your hand relates to the pot size and number of opponents involved in the hand. The size of the pot absolutly needs to be considered.

I think you might not be playing optimally, rather than running bad. There is a chance that if you are laying down this easily that you may not be playing agressively enough as well. I would post some hands and try to get some specific help from the talent here.

Allan

Joe Tall
04-28-2003, 12:07 PM