PDA

View Full Version : Katrina's Effect on S&P

ChromePony
09-09-2005, 01:58 PM
OK, so I just put some poker money into the basic Vanguard S&P index and I'm quite content to enjoy the lowish risk/lowish rewards it typically offers in exchange for not having to worry about things.

Now, there has been a lot of talk lately about how the fallout and loss of jobs from Katrina will hurt our economy in the near future, I'm no expert (in fact I know very little), but these are the rumors I hear on these boards and on cable news and that sort of thing.

So my question is this...Would this be a good time to take this money out of S&P and put it in a foreign fund or something. I of course understand the point of riding out the ups and downs of the market and how over the long term things will tend to right themselves. But it seems that if we can predict that there will be even a small downturn it would be stupid to sit and watch my money depreciate, or at least not grow at the rate it could be.

Vanguard has lots of no load funds so its not much of a hassle to transfer to a new one. Thoughts and suggestions?

Peter666
09-11-2005, 08:23 AM
Put it in a mutual fund with good managers who have above average results.

The be all and end all of index funds is to get guaranteed average performance....if you do not touch the fund for a long time. But obviously this has not worked in your case,and doesn't for anyone I know as most are smart enough to realize that current events effect the markets in a positive or negative way, and it is possible to make more money by having it at the right place at the right time.

A good fund manager has more experience in this field and you should either give them your money or invest it yourself.

I do not like index funds precisely because of their failure to satisfy an investor's psychological needs, and the fact that their performance is merely average.

Uglyowl
09-11-2005, 09:29 AM