PDA

View Full Version : Sports Noobs against Pros - spawned from tdarko's tennis thread

bravos1
09-08-2005, 06:29 PM
OK.. thought this deserved it's own thread...

Here are the rules:

Pick a sport in which you feel any noob (read as : this person has never played this sport before) would have any flying chance at against a pro. Assume noob is an overall decent athlete though.

The game has to be more than just a one time thing like, first to make a free throw, noob shoots first. But things like 10 penalty shots against a goalie in soccer are reasonable.

Here are some possible criteria for various sports.

Tennis - Win one game in 3 sets
Baseball - 3 or more fairballs hit (no bunting) in 27 outs.
Basketball - score 2+ baskets in a race to 15 winner takes out.
Table Tennis - score 2 pts in a 21 pt match
Bowling - within 200 pts in a 3 game match.
Boxing - last 5 rounds
Golf - win 2 holes out of 18, for a total noob even one would be too much I guess.

Let's get creative. Also what would be the worst odds against any pro?

Let's start then...

Someone already mentioned a shootout against a soccer goalie and I think it may be one of the best... pretty much a crapshoot.

Biggest longshot? Probably something like chess if we want to consider that. But oh the possibilites for fun...just for the pleasure of watching.. a 5 round boxing match. Yes, the noob could get lucky, but even getting lucky and hitting the pro, it would still be very unlikely that anything would happen except having the noob get pounded on afterwards.. How about some mixed martial arts fighting like the UFC? That would be great... /images/graemlins/grin.gif

So post your sport and criteria.

Patrick del Poker Grande
09-08-2005, 06:34 PM
The answer is here (http://forumserver.twoplustwo.com/showflat.php?Cat=&Number=3351162&page=0&view=colla psed&sb=5&o=14&fpart=1)

beta1607
09-08-2005, 06:35 PM
[ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]

This is the only one a noob would even have any shot at.

tbach24