PDA

View Full Version : The Man vs. The Kid

zman
04-25-2003, 01:09 PM
Since i am a novice at hold'em i enjoy playing at Dynamite.com where at a fairly low cost i get to practice against some expert players.
The other day i sat down at a low limit game. There were 5 players including myself when i was dealt 7 /forums/images/icons/spade.gif 7 /forums/images/icons/diamond.gif at the button. There's a call and a fold, and since i figure the hands pretty good i raise it. Now, sb reraises. Ah, who is this and whats he holding, i think. None of the regulars, never seen the guy, but i get the impression he's a good playa. bb fold, seat 3 call, and i'm thinking fold? - nah, hands good, put in the 4th bet? - i really like to see the flop as cheaply as possible, so i call. FLOP: 3 /forums/images/icons/club.gif 5 /forums/images/icons/diamond.gif 6 /forums/images/icons/club.gif sb bets, seat 3 fold, i call, TURN: 9 /forums/images/icons/club.gif sb bets, and i quickly dismiss the flush, i think i have a good hand, i call. RIVER: 7 /forums/images/icons/heart.gif sb bets, i raise and get reraised, i call and see Q /forums/images/icons/club.gif 8 /forums/images/icons/club.gif . Now, i like to make this kind of play myself, rarely at dynamite, because it gets punished too often, but against weeker competition. Why did i dismiss the flush so soon? Well, probably because in this situation i was The Kid. I guess i made misstakes on all betting rounds, and i also guess that The Man would have won the pot was he holding my hand.
I would appreciate any comment on the play of this hand, and also some thoughts of how the better player (him, i suppose) can pull the same stunt on me that i pull on worse players. Is that all it comes down to: the difference between players?
The conclusion i made of this hand is that the misstake i did was i had too much respect all untill the river where i had too little. Any other conclusions i should draw?
Happy for all comments.

Paul Talbot