PDA

View Full Version : Are these stats normal?

09-07-2005, 08:03 AM
I just started playing limit Omaha8 and just got pokertracker, and over the last 2500 hands I have determined that I am not very good. Anyway, I am wondering (hoping?) if maybe I am running bad, too.

Are these numbers noral?

Omaha8 Performance:
Won High: 7.79% (199 out of 2,555)
Won Low: 3.01% (77 out 2,555)
Scooped 5.91% (151 out of 2,555)

Is this representative of a dry run of cards? Even if no one knows for sure, I suppose I'd like to see how winning players' corresponding numbers look.

Thanks

Mendacious
09-07-2005, 08:33 AM
Two things:

1) 2500 hands is just way too small to tell anything

2) I can't imagine what anyone could tell you from just those stats. I rarely see anyone refer to them, those stats would really be affected by some of the other more relevant stats like V$PIP, WSF, WSD W$SD.

Ribbo
09-07-2005, 08:41 AM
All these stats mean nothing to me because I never use them myself. I can't understand this obsession for pouring over stats and trying to say they mean one thing or another. If you're a good enough player, you will win, otherwise you will lose. I'm sure someone could take all my stats and prove that I am a losing player by breaking it down in a certain way, but that wouldn't explain the $80,000 made this year.
How about instead you work on getting some skill rather than finding out you've had some cold cards.

mshalen
09-07-2005, 09:09 AM
To follow up on Ribbo's post. It isn't the number of pots you win but how much money you make at the end of the day, week, year.

I have been playing mostly pot limit and if I posted my stats people would think I was insane. I enter a huge number of pots, quickly fold if the flop doesn't help me and push hard if I catch a piece of the flop. If I see the turn (which isn't often) I win a large percentage of the time and the pots are large.