PDA

View Full Version : Help me invest

J_V
04-24-2003, 03:37 AM
Hey guys. I am going to invest 15K. I am 23 years old, the money is not chump change to me, but if I lost every penny of it, it wouldn't change my lifestyle.

I think this means I should be pretty aggressive. I have time to build it up. I guess it's a little like taking a poker "shot."

I am a newbie investor. I did graduate in Finance, but they haven't taught me much I could use. I never quite understood how to gain an edge (without inside info). Seems to me that most investors think like this...."I'll buy the com Nissan cause the Z is selling well." Well duh, that's alright factored into the price. Or, "I'll buy the company that is going to produce "Lord of the Rings" cause thats gonna gross a lot." Hmmm....doesn't seem like that's an edge. It violates one of the Sklansky rules for making a bet too (information asymmetry). Ok....does anyone have a decent blueprint for me to get started or some individual securities to buy? I don't have the time or knowledge to pine over financial statements yet. And some of you are incredibly versed in the financial markets. Figured one of you would be nice enough to give me some free consulting.

Thanks guys!!!

Mark Heide
04-24-2003, 02:04 PM
J V,

For some free investment information about stocks, bonds, and others, go to www.quicken.com (http://www.quicken.com) for information. They have investment strategies and systems to use. I like the Robert Hagstrom's "The Warren Buffet Way" here's a link to there stock picks:

http://www.quicken.com/investments/strategyexperts/?strongpicks=hagstrom

For bonds and other capital preservation investments I rely on my financial consultant for some advice at Smith Barney.

Good Luck

Mark

palm3535
04-24-2003, 07:38 PM
Buy the Exchange Traded Fund - Nasdaq 100 - Symbol QQQ
You don't have to worry about bad news on a specific corporation because its a basket of the top 100 companies in the US (mostly but not all in HI TECH).