View Full Version : AA cannot win....

09-07-2005, 12:50 AM
....for me. I know, i know, this isnt really true. But I started playing a few days ago at .25/.5 and i CANNOT get people to stop winning with hands like 59o. I cannot get it done. I have lost a LOT with this hand. i cant shake the mentality that i cant win if i dont play donk-like. Are the lower limits always this bad? Do I have to change something?

davet
09-07-2005, 12:53 AM

That's Manga for a groan, confusion, a silent curse, etc. Yes, it is always this bad, I mean who cares about a friggin dollar?

09-07-2005, 12:54 AM
I do. Is that the problem?

mike4bmp
09-07-2005, 01:14 AM
I used to think this way...but I find that the micro limit players are really readable....If you open up for a raise or maybe even reraise and they cold call I think as dumb as they are they still put you on a big pair or AK at least.
If you bet and they raise...it seems like 95% of the time they catch two pair and they raise you...and it seems like you can never catch up by making a set or counterfeiting their hand. If I get raised or reraised by a douche when I am holding a premium hand I know right away that they are telling me that they are not afraid of AA or KK. Then I play cautiously from then on.
I don't know if this helps.....
But in my opinion for the ultra small games, drawing hands play the best b/c you usually end up with 5 or 6 dumb-a-- cold callers that catch Jesus Mary and Joseph on the flop turn and the river....hate it... /images/graemlins/mad.gif

09-07-2005, 09:37 AM
My approach with AA at the lower limits

1) always raise and reraise preflop
2) always bet the flop - or raise or re-raise

From there, it really depends on the board.

My feeling is that if 59o is going to beat my AA, then so be it - I will not play scared of 59o.

pokerjoker
09-07-2005, 11:44 AM
my guess is either
1. just bad luck for a few AA hands in a row
2. You arent betting enough to get drawing hands out.

Clarkmeister
09-07-2005, 11:45 AM