PDA

View Full Version : Resisting the urge to check to the raiser

DrewOnTilt
09-06-2005, 10:14 PM
I am new to the table, 2nd orbit. Villain is an unknown but I have seen him raise draws in position on 2-3 previous hands.

I only have Ace high, but if he is on a flush draw then he is drawing against me. Only I got raised on the turn...what should have been my line?

Party Poker 3/6 Hold'em (9 handed) converter (http://www.selachian.com/tools/bisonconverter/hhconverter.cgi)

Preflop: Hero is SB with K/images/graemlins/heart.gif, A/images/graemlins/spade.gif.
<font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, UTG+1 calls, <font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, MP2 calls, <font color="#666666">3 folds</font>, <font color="#CC3333">Hero raises</font>, <font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, UTG+1 calls, MP2 calls.

Flop: (7 SB) 9/images/graemlins/heart.gif, 6/images/graemlins/spade.gif, 3/images/graemlins/heart.gif <font color="#0000FF">(3 players)</font>
<font color="#CC3333">Hero bets</font>, <font color="#CC3333">UTG+1 raises</font>, MP2 folds, Hero calls.

Turn: (5.50 BB) 5/images/graemlins/diamond.gif <font color="#0000FF">(2 players)</font>
<font color="#CC3333">Hero bets</font>, <font color="#CC3333">UTG+1 raises</font>, Hero calls.

River: (9.50 BB) A/images/graemlins/diamond.gif <font color="#0000FF">(2 players)</font>
Hero checks, <font color="#CC3333">UTG+1 bets</font>, Hero calls.

Final Pot: 11.50 BB

toss
09-06-2005, 10:27 PM
That 5 on the turn completes a 78 straight draw.

hobbsmann
09-06-2005, 10:27 PM
I don't like your donk bet on the turn. In the cases that I think I am ahead a portion of the time with A high combined with having over card outs that are probably good I think a c/c on the turn is the line I would take. I would then look to showdown AK high on the river UI if an obvious straight or flush card doesn't fall, c/f the river if they do, and bet/call with an A/K on the river.

Nick C
09-06-2005, 10:36 PM