PDA

View Full Version : Party Poker rude floorperson

Roy Munson
04-23-2003, 06:28 AM
I have been playing at Paradise exclusively for the past 3 years. After reading posts about other sites I decided to take the plunge and downloaded Party Poker.
During my first hour of play in an O/8 game the following situation happened. I win the low half of a hand that consisted of a main pot and two side pots that were the result of two players going all in. Both all-in players muck losing hands at the showdown and I expected to split the total of the 3 pots ($60) with the winner of the high half of the hand.
To my surprise the high half winner received $33 while I received only $27. I contacted the floorperson who informed me that since each pot contained an odd number of chips that the player closest to the blinds gets the extra odd chip. In this situation Paradise combines the total of the pots and splits it evenly or breaks it down into .25 cent increments if necessary.
After the completion of our correspondence the floorperson said the following, "Please feel free to disturb us 24 hours a day". I didn't realize that asking a floorperson to do their job is a disturbance. I cashed out and will erase their software as soon as my Neteller deposit is confirmed.

24hPOKER
04-23-2003, 07:26 AM
Hi,
I found this problem intriguing and talked to our programmers about it and how we handle it.

We have a middle way and actually give the odd chip per sidepot to the high hand but we break it down to $0.25 making the "damage" a maximum of $0.25 per sidepot.

If this happens and I get a mail about it I personally guarantee to credit that poor Low-hand winner with the amount he felt he was missing. Heck, I'll double it and give back the rake as well.

Anyway, I was wondering what the pot sizes in each pot were and where the rake has gone. I find it difficult to get the equation right with a total of 3 pots and dollars as the lowest chip. But then again, I am no math whiz.