PDA

View Full Version : Need help

09-06-2005, 05:07 AM
I am a relative newbie to the world of online poker, and moreso to these forums. Thus far all the hand history postings and discussions have been so enjoyable to read and learn from.

About me - I have read TOP, SSH and WLLH, and have achieved a rating a TAA on PT after 20k hands, which I thought was good progress over a short time. I also assumed at 2/4 this would lead to consistent winnings over time. I wasn't expecting to make large amounts, but consistently win. I have been disappointed in that I suffer huge swings. I recognize that there is variance, but I think it's likely a sign of a larger problem - I normally play 2/4 limit, and can go up 200+ in a matter of hours, and then dump it right back later in the session.

I posting an appeal for help. I think a huge problem that I can relatively say with confidence is that I have extreme trouble with those players who are the "loose aggressive" types. They create multiway pots often and are clearly very advanced when it comes to postflop play. As a result, large pairs are often ruined by the multiway action postflop, etc. And the fact that it's at 2/4 doesn't help - no one folds to preflop raising unless it's early in the aciton (creating one BB rather than calling 1/2 BB). My play I feel does not change in this table environment - I stay tight aggressive, and this is perhaps my biggest problem (not changing). I have little ability to adapt to table, numbers of players in the action in any deal, etc.

My question is, what is the best way to handle players and tables such as this. I am just beginning to understand that if the pots are multiway, that hands like AT, KT and to a lesser extent AJ and KJ do not play well. However, do players like this merit playing a wider range of hands preflop instead of the predictable "tight" hands from only certain positions?