PDA

View Full Version : Ethics of taking chips off table

coolhandsun
09-02-2005, 08:22 PM
This may be a misplaced post...but this occured on the ubet 50/100 nl table. This guy smallfortune bought in for about 3k, won about 7k to walk away with 10k. He was playing with Mahatma....not sure of all the details cause I started watching after it had been going for a while. So he leaves the table and immediately goes back with 3k....thereby pocketing the 7k profit. When he came back Mahatma went on a 10 minute tirade about how the guy was a scumbag, a cheat, an angle shooter. Smallfortune's response is he didn't know it was against the rules to take chips off the table. He said it was a lot of money and didn't want to lose it all. Mahatma responds he should play a lower level, to which the guy replies he wanted to play mahatma and mahatma only plays 50/100.

I am relatively new to nl poker, and don't railbird much. But is there some rule or ethics involved in taking chips off the table? i mean, this was some small shooter who was taking a stab at a big time player but wanted to keep his risk in check. And here was the one guy he wanted to play railing on him as if he'd spit on his mom. Any thoughts?

Gavin Sun

yvesaint
09-02-2005, 08:24 PM
If I'm not mistaken, someone well-known (Ivey?) did this to Matusow once, bought in 20k, doubled up, then left, and he got really pissed. I thought it was the funniest thing in the world.

okayplayer
09-02-2005, 08:30 PM
I think it's pretty bitch made when people buy in short and then leave after doubling up and coming back with another short buy. People on PP do this all the time, and I think they should put in some type of "rule" that prevents this. i.e., they have to re-buy with the same amount as they left with if it's within a reasonable amount of time (~an hour or 2). I believe Stars has this feature.

coolhandsun
09-02-2005, 08:34 PM