PDA

View Full Version : Case Study: Investigating position & starting hand strength (11 hands)

DawnToDusk
09-02-2005, 05:39 PM
I'm relatively new to the game of PLO. Only been playing for a week now, but I am a fast learner. From my brief crash course in PLO, I am under the impression that raising in EP is bad. Not only that, but your position is crucial in this game. If you have bad position, your foe will play your hand for you. Right? But I am having a hard time figuring out what the strength of my starting hand is and if I should be limping with it in so and so position, tossing it in so and so position, or raising it in so and so position.

I kind of have some idea of hand strength in PLO, but I have provided many examples. I think it would be beneficial for this whole forum if a discussion was started up talking about position, hand strength, and preflop decisions. The games that I provide examples for are 7-10 handed. They are also the small PLO buy in tables ($25, $50, $100 max). With each hand I post I will provide some logic/reasoning to why I did it. Please help me find out why or why not it was a good limp/raise.

Early Position Limps

I limp in UTG with 6 /images/graemlins/heart.gif 5 /images/graemlins/diamond.gif A /images/graemlins/diamond.gif A /images/graemlins/heart.gif. I figure I can make two flushes, a straight draw, or hit the high set. If the flop hits me even just a little, I have some strong draws, as long as they are to the nuts.

I limp in UTG with 3 /images/graemlins/club.gif A /images/graemlins/club.gif T /images/graemlins/heart.gif A /images/graemlins/spade.gif. I figure I can make the nut straight, nut flush, or hit the high set. If the flop hits me in anyway, I could have some decent draws, although I wouldn't say as strong as the one in the hand above.