PDA

View Full Version : on a 70 BB downswing and I think this is why.

Asim
09-02-2005, 01:33 PM
the only reason I am posting this is because there are most likely a lot of other people experiencing the same problem. I am a student on my summer break, my contract for my summer job finished and I started to play poker... initially it was great I had my bankroll of 300$ got .5/1 and I managed to double it up in about 2 weeks. the last 2 or 3 days, i have been on a horrible downswing of approx 75BB. Today I cashed out all of my money and decided to take a break and heres what I think was happening.. this is especially important for us young guys w/o full time jobs and a load of responsibilities. I have too much time on my hands and Poker has become more of a time pass. these last few days I noticed I was playing too much, mind you, ppl were hitting insanely lucky draws against me as well, but thats not the issue here, that always happens, Poker is fun, but I forgot why I was playing, which was for money. I think thats the main problem a lot of us micro limiters have, playing too much and forgetting that you are playing for money. Things became quite routine.. i think a break is a good idea just to remind myself why I am here. while I am away, I am gonna re-read SSHE and hopefully get TOP under my belt as well.

I realized you really have to schedule your poker... if you made it a specific time, even if its every day, but you said to yourself, from 7 - 10pm I am going to play poker and thats it. eventually your mind will train itself to think that way and you will be more focused, more alert and more "poker minded" from 7 - 10pm everyday... after that, forget about the game.. I really feel that is going to help my game, I will let you know in a weeks when I get back into the game.

how do you guys deal with a big downswing...?

dont think a swing like this is other ppls fault, 9 times out of 10, its something you are doing.

WildDan
09-02-2005, 01:43 PM