PDA

View Full Version : Relatively New to limit Omaha8, some questions

09-01-2005, 09:46 AM
I recently decided that I should get better at more games, and want to pursue limit Omaha8. I used to play NL/PL a lot, but haven't played more than probably 3000 hands of limit in my life.

I'm not a newbie to the game of 8 or better, just unfamiliar with some of the intricacies of limit strategy. I've read up on some of the starting hand type advice lately, and while this seems simple enough, I am wondering if it is really that easy at the biggest games on Party/Stars. It would seem that all the solid regulars have read all that stuff too and playing as tight as the books suggest might expose me to a beating.

My instinct tells me to play looser and to raise with more varied holdings, but that may be because I have been playing a lot of shorthanded poker (Stud8, NL Hold-em, Stud) in the past year or so. I do not plan on jumping into short situations in limit Omaha8 right away because I don't want to learn how to run before I learn to walk so to speak.

On to an actual question: Are there enough fish in the middle limits online(10-20 to 30-60)for solid "ABC" Omaha8 to be profitable? If so, how profitable? Is 1 big bet per table per hour possible in the middle limits? By ABC I don't mean anything derrogatory- I mean, is it true that by playing high quality starters even in the 20-40 and 30-60 ring games online, you will have a significant edge and be able to show a profit over enough players to win money?

By the way I'm not trying to suggest that I can just stroll into the 20-40 on Party or the 30-60 on Stars and expect to win at a good rate (or even win at all), I'm just curious how tough these games are.