PDA

View Full Version : Session Management (Semi-tilt)

phildirt
08-31-2005, 08:34 AM
This is been my problem lately, Multitableing I'll be up in 1 or 2 tables small (in these tables I think I'm playing well and have an advantage) and down big in in 1 or 2 (I don't think I'm playing badly). So I drop the loosing tables figuring I either playing badly, my opponents are playing better, or the game doesn't suit my style of play. While looking for another tables I start to loose in the tables I was up in. So in a short time I go from I'm not playing that bad and down a little to I'm know playing Like crap and down big for the session. I have played enough to know my game If I'm playing well over the long term my bankroll goes up slow and steady playing badly is a much sharper fall.

I looking for ways to improve this aspect of my game. I a new to the game and I am still learning. Short of playing good poker all the time (I'm working on that). What can I do to recognize when I not playing well. I don't think it's classic tilt.

Thanks in advance.

xniNja
08-31-2005, 09:09 AM
I think it's a good idea to leave tables you are down in, and continue playing tables you are up in, and practice this myself. You could be playing the same on all tables, but your opponents would be different, and your table image would also be different. Once you are winning, though, doesn't excuse bad play or tilting.

You need to learn to focus on playing your best game all the time, maximizing profitable situations, and not worrying about small losses as long as you are playing corrrect and (hopefully) winning overall.

Edit: It should be fairly obvious, once experienced, when you aren't playing your best game. The problem most players have is they simply can't quit playing even once they've realized this, and choose instead to succumb to denial.

Mr. Curious
08-31-2005, 04:58 PM
[ QUOTE ]