PDA

View Full Version : Compliments? (no content)

swiftrhett
08-31-2005, 04:48 AM
I've been playing a bit for a few years, and I've started to take it real seriously the past few months. I'm getting a lot more confident about my game and the prospect of playing full time.

It is obvious that most people who succeed at poker are intelligent, hardworking, and could probably succeed at a lot of things. I'm getting some pretty funny responses when i talk to my friends about poker who know very little about the game. My genius friends think that it's a waste of time, and my maybe-not-genius friends are amazed that I'm not broke. Here are some dialogue examples:

Me: Well, my friend makes $40/ hour

Genius: Can I, and the rest of humanity demand that he repays us for what he could have given the world instead?

Other Geinus: I think it's really great how you use all this intelligence, dedication, and creativity . . . towards online gambling.

---

Friend: how much do you make?
me: a couple bucks an hour
Friend: Well that's good, at least you're not broke.
Me: no actually, it's not really possible to live on that, so it isn't really good yet.
Friend: Hey, as long as you don't lose your shirt!

------

Anyway, I think it would be fun to hear any similar stories

Jman28
08-31-2005, 04:52 AM
my most common response (maybe I have dumb friends):

"Can I give you like $50, and you turn it into $500 for me?"

Newt_Buggs
08-31-2005, 05:22 AM
[ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]
I get that one from some of my friends too

bennies
08-31-2005, 05:35 AM
[ QUOTE ]

Every time I take a sucker's money I feel like I'm getting revenge on one of the many ignorant and/or stupid people in this world.

[/ QUOTE ]

lol, nice attitude.

raptor517
08-31-2005, 12:13 PM
[ QUOTE ]
[ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]
I get that one from some of my friends too

[/ QUOTE ]

the ones i get are more like can i give u 10 bucks and u turn it into 20. holla

08-31-2005, 12:17 PM
[ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]

I get that like crazy too.