PDA

View Full Version : A question for those with a MBA or business professionals in general

wacki
08-30-2005, 09:15 PM
I just got a difficult to resist job offer doing research at a University setting. I have an advanced science degree with strong backgrounds in CS, biology, chemistry and bioinformatics. Although I love my work, I've often wondered if I would be happier in the business setting. My current job offer would allow me to take any class of my choosing for free. I was curious as what classes (preferably graduate level) you would be good for someone feeling out the business world.

Classes I've taken relating to business:

Statistics (multiple regression, Markov Models, Bootstrapping, etc.) 500 level
Probability Theory 400 level
Business Law for under grads 300 level
Micro/Macro Economics 300 level (both)
A bunch of CIS classes
A bunch of classes on excel, access, etc.

Yes I know this is what a guidance counselor is for but in my experience most of them really suck. I want to ask someone with real world business experience.

edtost
08-30-2005, 09:26 PM
what school? we may be able to look at a course catalog online....

wacki
08-30-2005, 09:57 PM
http://www.kelley.iu.edu/

http://www.kelley.iu.edu/Management/coursedescriptions.shtmlx
This has courses, although I not sure if "Management" is the same as "MBA" although I bet both overlap.

This is the MBA site:

http://www.kelley.iu.edu/MBA/

But for some reason I can't find a link for the courses. When I find it I will post.

fingokra
08-30-2005, 10:26 PM
Take into considearation that I didn't finish my MBA

Of those listed I would think Strategic Management and/or Small Business Entrepreneurship are likely to be the most enjoyable and useful. Atleast for me

edtost
08-30-2005, 11:05 PM
[ QUOTE ]
http://www.kelley.iu.edu/

http://www.kelley.iu.edu/Management/coursedescriptions.shtmlx
This has courses, although I not sure if "Management" is the same as "MBA" although I bet both overlap.