PDA

View Full Version : The biggest lesson I've learned at PLO

DRKEVDC
08-30-2005, 08:53 PM
I have been playing PLO for a little while now and think that the biggest lesson that I have learned is not falling in love with hands. It took me a little while to learn that you must be able to get away from a hand that was the nuts on the flop and now isn't on the turn.

What other lessons have people learned that has helped them?

Small Stakes
08-30-2005, 09:09 PM
I'm new to PLO, but the turning point for me was when I realized how not loose w/ AAxx.

08-30-2005, 11:26 PM
Here's a good one:

Say you have a hand like TT98 and the flop is 993. The other 9 is likely out there and has a MUCH better chance of filling up than you do. Not saying you should fold every time, but play this hand with extreme caution.

bugstud
08-31-2005, 12:09 AM
[ QUOTE ]
I have been playing PLO for a little while now and think that the biggest lesson that I have learned is not falling in love with hands. It took me a little while to learn that you must be able to get away from a hand that was the nuts on the flop and now isn't on the turn.

[/ QUOTE ]

I learned to flop/turn/river the nuts more often

08-31-2005, 01:16 AM
It's a tough transition to make from hold'em. I think for me it was the value of a re-draw even a small. Top set with even a small flush draw, a flush with a str8 flush draw. Those extra 1 or 2 outs can make a hand that should be folded playable or a calling hand one worth a raise.

wickss
08-31-2005, 09:46 AM
I have learn that at a table full of weak tight players you should play the board and not just your hole cards. Represent and bluff intellegintly.

Runner Runner
08-31-2005, 09:56 AM
Position, Position, Position

Rosie5
08-31-2005, 12:27 PM
ok here's one simple rule that can make anyone a winning player. If you're ever in a tough spot just remember :

"you aren't getting bluffed"