PDA

View Full Version : Poker and your health

CourtesyFlush
08-30-2005, 06:14 PM
To those who play full time or close to full time, do you find yourself under a lot of stress to perform well? Do you find that you have more stress since you have started playing poker full time, compared to when you had other jobs? If so, has anyone noticed higher blood pressure or other health related issues since going pro?

CF

nmt09
08-30-2005, 06:43 PM
I'm not a pro but I am stuck to my computer all day and that alone could cause health problems. My eyes are getting worse and I get back pains from sitting for long periods of time.

sammysusar
08-30-2005, 07:04 PM
essentially if you just beleive poker to be a series of decisions and you dont worru about short term results it should not be very stressful. plus it beats havimg a job. only basic problem is too much time alone behind a computer. but if you can find some other interesting stuff to do outside of poker should not be streesful.

Boris
08-30-2005, 07:21 PM
Almost everyone who plays any significant amount of poker will battle a weight problem at some time. That is probably the biggest threat to your health.

Felix_Nietsche
08-30-2005, 10:09 PM
I find I play better poker when I make time to exercise.

jquattro
09-02-2005, 12:04 PM
Make time for exercise and entertaining yourself.
Whether your a pro and play 8 hours a day or a semi pro playing a few hours a day, make time to get in even the simplest exercise. I go to my university and play ping pong or squash for a few hours.
On weekends go out and talk to people, get drunk, see a movie, play mini golf...just get out.

You get to live the great life of a poker player, and stay healthy and sociable.

JonPKibble
09-02-2005, 02:01 PM
[ QUOTE ]
Almost everyone who plays any significant amount of poker will battle a weight problem at some time. That is probably the biggest threat to your health.

[/ QUOTE ]

What about white collar desk jobs? Is this really much different?