PDA

View Full Version : cooking

quinn
08-29-2005, 07:41 PM
So..
I'm moving into an apartment pretty soon, and I'd like to start cooking food to save money and have good food to eat.

Interests I have in mind:
1. Cheapness
2. Quality
3. Time (I don't want to spend more than an hour cooking any particular meal)

I have some cooking experience, so I'm not really inept.

Please post your ideas.

08-29-2005, 07:42 PM
Pasta.

You can make a million variations, as much or as little as you like and it's good.

...and Top Ramen.

tbach24
08-29-2005, 07:42 PM
Something like chili or a stew that you can make a lot of and not have to worry about cooking for a few days is good.

FatOtt
08-29-2005, 07:51 PM
http://images.amazon.com/images/P/0028610105.01._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-dp-500-arrow,TopRight,45,-64_AA240_SH20_SCLZZZZZZZ_.jpg

Blarg
08-29-2005, 08:04 PM
[ QUOTE ]
http://images.amazon.com/images/P/0028610105.01._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-dp-500-arrow,TopRight,45,-64_AA240_SH20_SCLZZZZZZZ_.jpg

[/ QUOTE ]

That was a very good answer.

P.S. -- A few tips:

A lot of good cooking comes down to the quality of your ingredients.

It doesn't have to take a long time to be good.

Remember to think about texture, not just taste. Sometimes you want a unified texture, sometimes you want some contrasts. Remember what textures you're after when you're deciding when to add an ingredient -- don't let a quick-cooking vegetable or other item you wanted to taste light, crispy, or fresh get bland, rubbery, or unappealing because you let it cook the same amount of time as something that takes ages to cook. This ties in a bit to the next tip...

Always taste. Cooking is fun and interesting if you pay attention to the results, and think how you could make things better or worse. A lot of cooking's appeal comes from appreciating it as a skill and a challenge, rather than looking at it as a chore or necessity.