PDA

View Full Version : Another moving up thread

rewt75
08-29-2005, 05:28 PM
Hey all. I've been playing poker for about a year now. I started at the pokerroom .25/.50c FR tables and worked my way up to the Party .5/1 FR tables within a couple of months and basically played nothing but them for the next 7 months. I am for the most part risk adverse. At the start of 2005, I took about a 17K hand shot at 2/4 full and ran at .78BB/100 and gave up because I was making less than my 4BB/100 at the .5/1 tables. Plus poker was stressing me out due to all the $100 loss sessions I would have.

I started playing SH as soon as the .5/1 6-max tables opened up a couple of months ago. I always wanted to learn SH, but didn't want to do it at the relatively expensive 1/2 6max tables. So I dove right into the .5/1 6-max tables and loved it. I ran at about 5BB/100 over 15K hands and decided to make the permanent move to 1/2 6-max in August and see how things go. As the month is coming to an end, I've got about 24K hands logged at 3.2BB/100.

My shortterm goal is to beat the 3/6 6-max games for at least 1.5BB/100, however I'm not sure if jumping right into this game is the best idea given my risk adversity and concern over triple the swings now. Ideally I would like to move to a 2/4 6-max game, but to my knowledge there is no site that I can play this game with rakeback. I'm beyond overrolled for the 3/6 game so that isn't a big concern for me. My big concern is if I take a shot at 3/6, drop $1K and get frustrated and drop back down 1/2 to make that money back and know that I could've had a much more profitable month sticking to my regular game.