PDA

View Full Version : I'm at my wits end ...

RiverDancer
08-29-2005, 12:23 AM
My problem in poker has always been playing beyond my bankroll. I know this, and I've tried to be better about it, but it is my best leak. I've been a pretty successful mid-stakes player - mainly live games, although I had played alot online as well. I've decided to take up the small-stakes online games, get PT, and try and do the whole thing "the right way" playing with the right BR and whatnot. So far this a smashing failure. I suspect I'm just running bad right now. I've read the Skalansky Low-Limit book and I'm very well aware of the pot-odds concept of low-limit and how making calls in these games is EV+ while they are EV- in most reasonable games.

Since I'm fairly new to PT, my question is this: Is there a method you guys would suggest using PT to help me determine if my play is poor, or if I'm just running bad? I don't have a great sample yet, only 5K hands. My VPIP is about 32 while my Preflop Raise % is around 10%. I suppose the VPIP is a bit high (when I played 10/20 I would guess it was around 20), but the increased hands are in late position and generally some sort of suited connector.

If you guys have some sort of measuring stick I could use that would be great.

RiverDancer

Harv72b
08-29-2005, 12:28 AM
This should help. (http://forumserver.twoplustwo.com/showthreaded.php?Cat=&Number=2129886&page=&view=&s b=5&o=&vc=1)

A VPIP of 32 is way too high for online poker. You just aren't going to have as high a donk percentage as you'll find in the typical B&M game, and worse yet the donks tend to come & go quickly (and are usually replaced by solid players lured in by the high avg. pot size). Even if you're playing 6max 32% is too much.

W. Deranged
08-29-2005, 12:28 AM
For starters, if you are playing 32% of hands there are absolutely hands included that you should never be playing.