PDA

View Full Version : Is this a bad play?

ArchAngel71857
04-11-2003, 10:49 AM
I'm fairly new to Hold Em. Playing a .20-.40 game at home. I'm in the BB (actually we only had one blind) and get dealt K /forums/images/icons/spade.gif 10 /forums/images/icons/spade.gif . limped around to me, i raise. everyone calls.

Flop comes A /forums/images/icons/diamond.gif J /forums/images/icons/spade.gif 7 /forums/images/icons/club.gif . i check, UTG checks, UTG+1 checks, EMP bets, MP calls, CO calls, button calls, I raise, UTG folds, UTG+1 folds, EMP is surprised, then calls, MP folds, CO calls, button calls.

Turn 3 /forums/images/icons/heart.gif . I check, EMP waits, checks, CO checks, button checks. River Q /forums/images/icons/heart.gif . I bet, EMP calls, CO calls, button calls. I take it down.

I had been getting nothing but junk for 2 hours, so its hard for me to know whether I was on tilt because I got excited by the face card, or whether i made a brilliant play beyond my comprehension.

Comments welcome and don't be afraid to take me to town, but please give a thorough explanation on what I should have been thinking and what I missed. Thanks.

-AA

Toro
04-11-2003, 11:31 AM
What was the purpose of your check raise? Two basic reasons for raising are obviously: 1)Value raises to make the pot bigger so we can win more money or 2)Bluff raises to try and make the field fold so we can win a pot without the best hand. Since it's unlikely that you're going to fold the field with this raise, you basically made yourself pay more to see if you could make your slim draw. You just happened to get lucky on the hand and got a great result from a bad play.

Bob T.
04-11-2003, 12:09 PM