PDA

View Full Version : Stupid or Brilliant?

jasonHoldEm
04-09-2003, 12:49 AM
Hello everyone,

I'm pretty new to NL (so please don't bite my head off), and this hand pretty much proves it.

6 person NL tournament at UB.

Blinds are at 30/60 one person is already out, I'm the number two stack with around 1500 big stack has 1800 or so (6000 chips in play).

I'm in the CO with A /forums/images/icons/diamond.gif A /forums/images/icons/spade.gif (big stack is BB), it's folded to me and I double the BB. Button and SB fold BB raises to 180, I make it 250 to go, BB calls.

Flop comes: 3 /forums/images/icons/club.gif , 3 /forums/images/icons/diamond.gif , K /forums/images/icons/club.gif

BB checks, I bet out for 100, BB calls

Turn: 5 /forums/images/icons/heart.gif

BB checks again I bet out for 200 and the BB goes all-in.

From what I've seen the BB is a pretty solid player, they had gone all-in earlier (and gotten a caller) with the nuts. They've also made several good trapping plays (one of which I'm realizing I probably just fell for).

When the BB didn't come over top of me pre-flop and just check/called the flop I was thinking flush draw (although calling 250 for a draw seems questionable). I wanted to charge them as much as possible to draw to the flush which is why I bet flop/turn. Given what I know about the player I would doubt they're playing some crap hand like A3, K3 etc, If they just have a king (AK maybe) I'm ahead, but given the BB prior actions I'm thinking either 33 or KK, which means I'm drawing dead or very thin with one card to come.

I have a minor aneurysm trying to decide what to do. I end up mucking the rockets and BB shows KK, I feel relieved that I read it right, but I'm wondering where I could have played it differently to not loose a third of my stack. /forums/images/icons/confused.gif

Thanks in advance,
jHE

sdplayerb
04-09-2003, 01:50 AM