PDA

View Full Version : TPFAP or HOH 1 & 2?

shermn27
08-25-2005, 09:28 AM
Okay, so I am new to MTT but a veteran limit player who has picked up tourney's as a way to mix things up and stay interested. I've read HoH1 & TPFAP (but embarrisingly have not read HoH2) and I keep wondering which book do you think is better? Honestly, between these two, I find relatively little that Harrington says that Sklansky had already not mentioned in TPFAP.

As a side note, I find that I am doing okay in MTTs thus far but not picking up as many pots as I think I should be as the blinds increase and the players get closer to the pay out. I am aggressively trying to pick up blinds, but seem to run into players who either don't understand the Gap concept, understand it and know that I am using it so they call me, or one's who have really big hands (AA/KK).

So second question is are there some obvious leaks newbie tourney players have that cost them when it gets close to payout time? And finally, the third question is, b/c I have found only minimal value out of HoH 1, should I buy HoH 2, or does Sklansky beat Harrington to the punch on that book too? All advice appreciated and I apologize for those who think these questions are a waste of their time.

Tailgunner
08-25-2005, 10:02 AM
One of my common mistakes when I started playing MTT's was playing too tight-passive around the bubble. This left me wide open to aggressive attacks and I'd end up folding too often to blind steals and limping into pots where I could easily be pushed off of the flop.

While a lot of people will tighten up going into the bubble (and it's not a bad idea if you have a decent stack), there will be some who capitalize on that and you need to be able to come back with some fire of your own to discourage them.