PDA

View Full Version : Quiz: Do YOU have the odds?

Eeegah
08-24-2005, 06:03 PM
There's been some talk among the newer folks to the effect that they aren't particularly sure how many outs they have in a situation, and by corollary whether or not they have odds to call. Whenceforth and inasmuchwith, I've done gone and drawn up a quiz for you neophytes to practice your out counting skills on.

For each question, answer the following:
a) How many raw (ie, pre-discounted) outs do you have? List them. (Note, count overcards as still being 1.5 outs, even though that's technically discounted.)
b) How would you discount your outs?
c) Would you have odds to call if you were closing the action? Don't factor in implied odds here.
d) If you're not actually closing the action, would you call here? Go ahead and factor in implied odds here if you want, but please elucidate as frankly I'm not good at calculating this and could learn someting /images/graemlins/tongue.gif
e) Add up the ranks of the cards on the board and divide by the sum of your hole cards. Round to the nearest integer and write the results in Korean (pure Korean, not Sino).

Assume that we're behind here, and we will likely need to go to showdown: we have to improve to win this. Also assume that your opponents are for the most part solid preflop (not necessarily postflop), and will generally conform to SSHE's Tight chart. Most of these are straight out of my PT database, although a few have been altered to make it more difficult (so you may want to double-check the math on the pot sizes). And please, no criticizing the action before our decision as some of these hands are ficticious anyway.

<font color="blue">Hand 1</font>
PokerStars 0.50/1.00 Hold'em (10 handed) converter (http://www.selachian.com/tools/bisonconverter/hhconverter.cgi)

Preflop: Hero is BB with K/images/graemlins/club.gif, 8/images/graemlins/spade.gif.