PDA

View Full Version : Renting an apartment as a poker player

Michael Davis
08-23-2005, 10:58 PM
Geormiet and I are looking for a nice apartment in LA. Both of us play poker. Last year we were graduate students. We don't want to tell the landlords we play poker, but we don't want to be disqualified either.

Our plan is just to say that I am a student making 15k and that he is a student/musician making 50k, and going from there.

Anyone have any advice for what our best plan of action is? Do we need to come with bank account statement; will account statements be enough to overcome any questions on the part of the landlord?

Thanks.

-Michael

swede123
08-23-2005, 11:02 PM
Every apartment I ever leased I was asked for paystubs for the past two months or so, so I would imagine you would a little bit extra support in terms of having extra savings, some evidence that your buddy is a (paid) musician etc. They may screw you over a bit by requiring a bigger deposit or something so be careful.

Swede

DavidC
08-23-2005, 11:05 PM
Tell him you're a pimp. Wear your bling. /images/graemlins/smile.gif

Voltron87
08-23-2005, 11:06 PM
offer to pay the landlords well in advance with straight cash or a check.

RubberDucky
08-23-2005, 11:08 PM
[ QUOTE ]
offer to pay the landlords well in advance with straight cash or a check.

[/ QUOTE ]

Dynasty
08-23-2005, 11:08 PM
A bank statement showing you have the funds for six months rent should be sufficient.

And, tell the truth. Lying only leads to the potential for more problems.

Voltron87
08-23-2005, 11:10 PM
[ QUOTE ]
A bank statement showing you have the funds for six months rent should be sufficient.

And, tell the truth. Lying only leads to the potential for more problems.

[/ QUOTE ]

dynasty is right.

whats wrong with telling the truth if you can prove you have the funds to be a good occupant?

slickpoppa
08-23-2005, 11:15 PM
Stop being a budget boy and pay it all up front

SomethingClever
08-23-2005, 11:16 PM