PDA

View Full Version : A list of leaks.

Eeegah
08-23-2005, 05:21 PM
I have leaks. Yeah, no kidding, and if I didn't I wouldn't be posting in ML /images/graemlins/smile.gif

I've come a long way in the three months since I started playing Hold'Em, but I still have a number of things I need to correct. However, I've been on a nice rush this month so if I'm going to try to correct them I need to take a deliberate step away from the tables.

In light of this, these are some of the more general things that have been bugging me about my play of late.

<ul type="square"> Obviously, if I'm going to keep sitting at empty tables and let them fill up (which has worked wonderfully for me), I'm gonna need to work out shorthanded. I can hold my own for the most part, but I want to optimize how my starting hand requirements change as the table goes from 2 to 3 to 5 to 4 handed, and also how much I can get away with being aggro with, say, middle pair low kicker. HEPFAP has some stuff on it, but it's not as specific as I'd like. To be honest, I'm not even exactly sure what I can play HU: Harrington says you can play any two in NL tourneys when it gets HU but that's a completely different beast from Limit Ring where the implied odds aren't as large and we aren't paying antes.
When I have a backdoor flush draw on the flop and get one of my suit on the turn, I have a tendency to bet out rather than check. This isn't for value, and fold equity isn't a big deal here since anyone else with a higher flush draw isn't folding anyway. A semi-bluff HU is one thing, but (This is assuming I'm not sitting with other possibilities such as overcards.)