PDA

View Full Version : Min. reraises confuse me(late stages)

John Hurst
08-23-2005, 02:35 AM
So here is a situation that occurs fairly often and I'm often surprised by what my opponent has. It's the late stage of a $55 or $109 tournament(level 5) and I've switched into aggressive mode. Raised several times in the last ten hands. Suddenly an opponent who I have no solid notes on min. reraises me. Against a tight player this most likely is a monster but what does it mean from a random party yahoo. I've been shown AA, A2, J10, utter trash. I would guess at the 55s it's 30% monster, 50% solid holding, 20% utter trash from a frustrated opponent. I know this in not a detailed question, but how do you deal with a generic player who reraises you for the first time? Folding 100% gives up way too much equity, IMO.

jt1
08-23-2005, 02:39 AM
mini raises??? I'm new to SNG's and if I could only figure them out....

BTW, Texas is going down Sept. 10'th

John Hurst
08-23-2005, 02:47 AM
Here is an example. But I wanted a more general discussion.

Party Poker No-Limit Hold'em Tourney, Big Blind is t150 (4 handed) converter (http://www.selachian.com/tools/bisonconverter/hhconverter.cgi)

UTG (t1695)
Hero (t3046)
SB (t3131)
BB (t2128)

Preflop: Hero is Button with J/images/graemlins/heart.gif, J/images/graemlins/spade.gif.
<font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, <font color="#CC3333">Hero raises to t450</font>, <font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, <font color="#CC3333">BB raises to t750</font>

fluorescenthippo
08-23-2005, 02:49 AM
yes! i just had this happen. villian thought i had crap, he had T7s and i had AQ and he sucked out.

i have no insight to post whatsoever, i just agree.

Xenod
08-23-2005, 03:01 AM