PDA

View Full Version : 5/10 live hand--bad push?

tdarko
08-21-2005, 03:48 AM
button is a maniac but tricky, on the flop he has shown a couple overbets with Ax and small pairs but thats really all i have on him since this is my first time at this particular game.

the maniac has me covered in this game, but not by much.

folded to the maniac on the button who raises to 25 (standard). i call from the BB with 5 /images/graemlins/club.gif 6 /images/graemlins/club.gif.

flop is A /images/graemlins/club.gif6 /images/graemlins/heart.gif4 /images/graemlins/club.gif
i bet out 40 and the maniac insta-calls

the turn is a 7 /images/graemlins/spade.gif
i bet 130 (about pot) and without hesitation the maniac insta-raises 600 into what is like a 235 dollar pot (i think, if my math is correct?). this seems very off to me. anyway i think for a little bit a reraise the rest which was i think 1730.

the maniac has about 1400 left.

was this the wrong play here? i felt that i had fold equity here since there was already a large pot and if he did call i still had a strong draw.

if there is a leak here then please help.

BobboFitos
08-21-2005, 03:50 AM
i dont make money vs maniacs by having them fold

tdarko
08-21-2005, 04:17 AM
yeah you're right, so are you saying i should just fold this hand and wait for a better spot?

but just b/c he is a maniac doesn't mean he won't lay this down, he could have raised with any two cards before the flop. what if he has K /images/graemlins/spade.gif6 /images/graemlins/spade.gif? does a maniac call? and if he doesn't call is it still the wrong play?

BobboFitos
08-21-2005, 04:38 AM
[ QUOTE ]
yeah you're right, so are you saying i should just fold this hand and wait for a better spot?

but just b/c he is a maniac doesn't mean he won't lay this down, he could have raised with any two cards before the flop. what if he has K /images/graemlins/spade.gif6 /images/graemlins/spade.gif? does a maniac call? and if he doesn't call is it still the wrong play?