PDA

View Full Version : Raising Overcards on the Flop.

hobbsmann
08-20-2005, 10:39 PM
I've been thinking about this topic a fair amount the last couple of days so I'll present a fairly common situation and would like to get peoples opinions.

The general situations goes like this (say limit is party 5/10)...

Thinking TAG in the HJ/CO openraises and you 3-bet on the button with AQ/AK, blinds fold and TAG calls. You put the TAG on any pair, any ace, broadway cards, etc.

Say the flop comes something like J62r and the TAG check raises you, is it ever correct to 3-bet here? Why?

cwsiggy
08-20-2005, 11:09 PM
I'm just learning how to deal with these, but you just have a weak draw, no backdoor flush and could be reverse dominated. But, the pot is - well - kinda big?? lol Why did he check raise you? doe she do this alot to bluff or did he hit the J most likely. I say call and see a turn. Thoughts.

brazilio
08-20-2005, 11:13 PM
A good TAG checkraising the flop means he's got a J, a 6, or any pocket pair. 3-bets for free cards get expensive, they usually don't work, and even if they do you're not always drawing to 6. There are other instances if he's on a draw and he thinks a flop c/r can make you release on the turn, but I don't see that a huge ton.

hobbsmann
08-20-2005, 11:44 PM
[ QUOTE ]
A good TAG checkraising the flop means he's got a J, a 6, or any pocket pair. 3-bets for free cards get expensive, they usually don't work, and even if they do you're not always drawing to 6. There are other instances if he's on a draw and he thinks a flop c/r can make you release on the turn, but I don't see that a huge ton.

[/ QUOTE ]

I completely agree with you that a c/r on a flop like this means that villian has a J or any pair. Now what I'm most interested in is trying to quantify fold equity in situations like this. By 3-betting the flop you will often get a TAG to fold small pairs on the turn for a bet.