PDA

View Full Version : Bottom pair + backdoor flush on the flop.

Larimani
08-20-2005, 01:51 PM
Enough to call the flop?

Party Poker No-Limit Hold'em (NL$25) <font color="#0000FF">(6 handed)</font> link (http://www.darksun.lunarpages.com/poker/)

UTG ($4.75)
MP ($43.00)
CO ($16.40)
Hero ($24.65)
SB ($16.00)
BB ($22.00)

Preflop: Hero is Button with 9/images/graemlins/diamond.gif, 5/images/graemlins/diamond.gif.
UTG calls $0.25, MP calls $0.25, <font color="#666666">1 folds</font>, Hero calls $0.25, SB calls $0.15, BB checks.

Flop: ($1.25) J/images/graemlins/diamond.gif, 9/images/graemlins/spade.gif, K/images/graemlins/club.gif <font color="#0000FF">(5 players)</font>
<font color="#CC3333">SB bets $0.50</font>, BB folds, UTG folds, MP calls $0.50, Hero....?

EDIT: I realise this is a pretty basic question... but I'm relatively new to NL...

amoeba
08-20-2005, 01:59 PM
other things you should consider is whether underbet means monster with this villain or not ( I would hate to hit another 9 only to get run in to villain's QT) .Also will villain fold say a pair of jacks if you become aggressive on the turn. will villain go too far with single pair hands and pay me off if I do hit a 9 or a backdoor flush or maybe a 5 as my immediate odds are not there to a 5 outer with 3 outs not that great. usually I don't even count backdoor flushes especially ones this low.

with an MP3 call I find it pretty tough to call as well. I can't bluff both of them easily later on in the hand and I have to have reads that neither of them slowplay monsters.

ajmargarine
08-20-2005, 03:29 PM
First off, fold preflop. Yeah, I know they are soooted, but you got nothing. As to the general question, bottom pair - 3 to a flush, you can count your flush runner runner as one out. 2 9's and 3 5's gives you a total then of 6 outs to improve, which you will almost have to do to win the hand. .50 to call, pot $2.25, odds aren't there, so fold.

yvesaint
08-20-2005, 03:31 PM