PDA

View Full Version : New to the table, 99 overpair on flop

08-16-2005, 03:26 AM
I JUST joined the table. I sometimes raise with 99 in this position, but I don't like doing it when I'm new to the table.

Party Poker 0.50/1 Hold'em (10 handed) converter (http://www.selachian.com/tools/bisonconverter/hhconverter.cgi)

Preflop: Hero is CO with 9/images/graemlins/diamond.gif, 9/images/graemlins/spade.gif. Hero posts a blind of $0.50.
<font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, UTG+1 calls, UTG+2 calls, <font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, MP2 calls, <font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, Hero (poster) checks, <font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, SB completes, <font color="#CC3333">BB raises</font>, UTG+1 calls, UTG+2 calls, MP2 calls, Hero calls, SB calls.

Flop: (12 SB) 7/images/graemlins/spade.gif, 2/images/graemlins/club.gif, 8/images/graemlins/heart.gif <font color="#0000FF">(6 players)</font>
SB checks, <font color="#CC3333">BB bets</font>, <font color="#CC3333">UTG+1 raises</font>, UTG+2 calls, MP2 folds, <font color="#CC3333">Hero 3-bets</font>, SB folds, BB folds, <font color="#CC3333">UTG+1 caps</font>, UTG+2 calls, Hero calls.

Turn: (12.50 BB) 3/images/graemlins/club.gif <font color="#0000FF">(3 players)</font>
<font color="#CC3333">UTG+1 bets</font>, UTG+2 calls, Hero calls.

River: (15.50 BB) Q/images/graemlins/club.gif <font color="#0000FF">(3 players)</font>
UTG+1 checks, UTG+2 checks, Hero checks.

Final Pot: 15.50 BB

After UTG raised the PF raiser, I was pretty sure he had a better overpair, two-pair, or a set. I did have a backdoor straight draw, so peeling one off wasn't too bad, I guess. And I raised and re-raised to eliminate other players. In retrospect, I think calling would have been better since I'm near certain I won't win unless I hit a miracle 9 or my backdoor straight. Would you advise calling in this situation?