PDA

View Full Version : Hutchison point system or Wilson Texas Turbo ? Omaha Hi

08-12-2005, 02:47 PM
OMAHA HI

http://erh.homestead.com/omaha.html

I don't know how to use Wilson TT count for Omaha Hi but the Hutchison point count system seems a little off to me. I get 31 points for A/images/graemlins/diamond.gif 6/images/graemlins/club.gif A/images/graemlins/spade.gif 4/images/graemlins/club.gif Am I right ?

1 point for 6 high flush draw.
18 points for pair of aces
6 points for 6 4 straight possibility ( 8 pts - 2 pts for gap)
6 points for A4 wheel card combo .

Now, I didn't deduct 4 points to account for the ace in straight possibilities because I didn't use the ace. I used 6 and the 4. Am I doing it right ? To me, the system is written so that you subtract 4 points from the 25, 18, or 8 pt possibilities but it's assumed in the last part because we were talking about wheel cards. So I get 31.

I'm new to omaha , though. Is this a good hand ? Maybe it is.

sy_or_bust
08-12-2005, 04:02 PM
I'd strongly recommend not using any system whatsoever. Play cards that "make sense", loosen up from middle/late position in multiway pots, raise for multiway value, etc. You want all your cards to work together, and you shouldn't consider a 6-high flush draw to be worth anything when you call preflop. In limit, you will never draw to make this hand, and only very rarely show it down made.

So what makes sense? JJT9 is decent, suited or not, JJ29 doublesuited is trash. The 2 is a "dangler" that does absolutely nothing for your hand, so you are playing with 3 mediocre cards instead of 4 and should fold. Note that you will rarely draw to the J-high flush draw, and never in isolation. If you are looking at flush draws, make sure they are A-high or K-high with other possibilities.