PDA

View Full Version : Trumpet

Crimson
08-08-2005, 09:33 PM
So, im into music.
11 years of Violin, 5 of piano, 5 of guitar (piano and guitar self taught with like 3 lessons) and an assortment of odd things like drums, harmonica, and i've been in musicals and sung for my whole life. (which, by the way, i have gotten more action out of then moutain biking or any other competitive sport i've been involved in.)

I wanna learn the trumpet, and tenor sax, and I have one, but don't really know where to begin. Im leaning twoart like 3 lessons and then on my own, but any advice would be great. BTW, which instrument is the best to get the ladies?

edtost
08-08-2005, 10:21 PM
get a few lessons, practice a lot of scales/arpeggios/etudes/etc. there's a standard book of that type of stuff thats really thick (like > 2" iirc) .... haven't picked mine up since high school, so i don't remember the name of it.

practice is much more important than lessons once you get the fundamentals down, especially if you already know other instruments.

turnipmonster
08-08-2005, 11:36 PM
with sax and guitar and piano you can get away with missing a day or two of practice and it's not a huge deal. no such luck with trumpet, if you want to maintain your chops you literally need to practice every day. playing a brass instrument is very physically challenging, this is not as true of other instruments.

SmileyEH
08-08-2005, 11:42 PM
[ QUOTE ]
with sax and guitar and piano you can get away with missing a day or two of practice and it's not a huge deal. no such luck with trumpet, if you want to maintain your chops you literally need to practice every day. playing a brass instrument is very physically challenging, this is not as true of other instruments.

[/ QUOTE ]