PDA

View Full Version : Playing at a new level

astarck
08-07-2005, 10:22 PM
We all know variance can make life a living hell from time to time. And we also all know that even winning players go through horrendous swings. So I ask you, how many do you play at a new level before you say to yourself "I cannot beat this level at my current level of play."?

The reason I ask is because I have a 15% known ROI at both the 22s and 33s and am trying to move up to the 55s. Through my first 160 55s my roi is hovering right around -6%. If I was an already established player at the 55s I wouldn't be concerned at all, but since I'm new to this level I wonder if I should drop back down or keep on playing. I have suffered swings this bad in both the 22s and 33s, but they came after I had already built up a healthy profit and had determined I was at least somewhat able to beat those levels.

Throughout the last 160 SNGs I have suffered what seems like an endless string of bad beats. This isn't a bad beat post, but the beats do make me think I might just be seeing the bad side to variance right as I try this new level.

So again, how many SNGs and at what ROI before you finally decide you can't take the new level?

ace_in_the_hole
08-07-2005, 10:32 PM
Just keep playing till at least 500 before seriously questioning your ability to beat the level. I think you just happened to have started with a downswing. My first 300 22's I was only at 3% ROI ready to give up and now i'm at 1200 with 11% ROI and still making major improvments to my game.

astarck
08-07-2005, 10:36 PM
WARNING - BAD BEAT RANT!

Ignore this throughout the rest of the thread.

Since typing my inital post I lost QQ to T9o and AA to A9c.

It's hands like that that make me consider maybe I'm just getting unlucky.

RANT OVER.

astarck
08-07-2005, 11:33 PM
Maybe I should also add another question.