PDA

View Full Version : Help with limit Omaha hi strategy

08-06-2005, 08:33 PM
It seems that whenever someone raises on the flop, they usually have the 1st or 2nd nut. I've been calling the raises sometimes with the 5th nut or a decent draw. I'm new to omaha. Anyway, what if I always assumed that I was up against the flopped nuts when someone raised on the flop? Would this be a bad strategy or would I be way too tight and fold too many half-way decent hands ? That would mean that I would fold :

77XX on a K K 7 flop. I would assume he had 4 of a kind and fold because I'd only have one out here. I'm just finding that I'm wasting a lot of money by not believing that my opponent could possibly have the nuts and he usually does. I saw two guys in my game yesterday where over 40 hands, they NEVER folded. 100 % seen flop % . I just need some help on proper omaha strategy. I have preflop down since I use the hutchison system but on the flop, I often don't know how many outs I have because I'm not sure if my opponent has the nuts or the 2nd nuts. Thanks.

sy_or_bust
08-08-2005, 11:15 AM
In Omahi Hi you want a huge made hand or a draw to it, only because the nuts is not always reasonably likely (i.e. 4-of-a-kind). The 5th nut should be discarded a lot unless it can develop into an even better hand. If you have a made hand that's vulnerable and lacks redraws, just toss it.

On a KK7 flop, KK is not a reasonable hand to fear. What you should fear is a king, which is why you should sometimes fold. You have an underboat, which is a huge pay off hand in Omaha. A hand like AKT9 has 9 outs to beat you, twice, and there may be two of these guys out. If K7 is around, you are drawing dead.